jump to navigation

Photoshop December 20, 2012

Posted by siewilson in Photoshop, Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

For my second station, I used Photoshop. But, instead of editing photos, I painted digitally. I don’t think many people have used Photoshop to paint in this class, but I hope that a lot of people will in the future. It’s fun, easy, and helps with basic art skills. However, It did take a lot of time. For my practices I drew: shapes, and eye, a mouth, and a hand. For my final project, I drew a skull. I learned a lot at this station, and most of it was from research. I didn’t complete any tutorials ( the class didn’t have any ) because I didn’t really want to. I didn’t want to copy someone’s art. However, I did look at people’s tutorials, and watched how they painted, and basically got tips from them. I learned a lot of the basics by just playing around on Photoshop, but I learned a lot of important stuff from researching and watching video tutorials. Before I started this station, I had already had experience with painting and drawing. I don’t suggest using Photoshop to digitally paint unless you have had at least some experience with painting/drawing. But, I do highly recommend digitally painting. It’s really fun, and you can do a lot of things that a normal paintbrush and acrylic can’t do.  You can edit your paintings color scheme, change the contrast, apply a filter, use layers, and much more. I didn’t encounter many problems with this station. The only problem I can really think of is when I mistakenly mixed grey and pink. Don’t mix grey and pink. Ever. In fact,  don’t mix any light color with grey. I thought that it would look fine, but it just made the pink look dull and kind of…disgusting. I mixed grey and pink in my drawing of a mouth. The mouth was probably my favorite practice. It took a lot of time, and I made a few mistakes, but I think it turned out well. My process in painting is quite simple, I sketch, change opacity, blend, erase, and then start all over again. It’s kind of repetitive, but it works. I also use the dodge tool and the blur tool quite frequently.

Image

For my final project, I drew a skull. The skull took a really long time, but it was probably the most enjoyable. It took a while to get the shape of the skull right, and blending was kind of a pain. On top of that, I had to add tiny lines over the blending, which took a while. But, I’m very satisfied with the result.  I also edited the contrast of the background, which was a separate layer.

Image

If you want to do digital painting, I have a lot of advice for you. But mainly, I think that you should check out my tutorials. They aren’t the best, but they will definitely help you.

  • Research first. Always research.
  • Watch video tutorials,  you get to see someone actually working, instead of just pictures and explanations.
  • Adjust your smudge tool. This is pretty simple and easy to do, but it will change your life. The smudge tool that hasn’t been adjusted is very hard to use, and will often make your painting look bad. If you want a detailed explanation that includes pictures, read the Basics of Digital Painting. Basically, you adjust the scattering.
  • Edit your paintings! By edit I mean adjust the contrast levels, and the hue.
  • Use the blur tool to smooth lines.
  • Use layers if your painting has a background.
  • Change it if you don’t like it. Changing your painting on photoshop is amazingly easy. The eraser tool is your friend.
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

