jump to navigation

Glass Blowing May 31, 2012

Posted by kilgolia in Uncategorized.
trackback

During the glass blowing station I learned a lot about different techniques to make cool glass art. First I learned about how to make stringers which are used to make designs later on. Then I practiced making simple beads and adding basic designs to them. Then Mr. Karden showed me some demonstrations on how to make things like implosion pendants and marbles. After the demonstrations I tried making a couple of them on my own and found it to be a lot harder than i had expected. My biggest trouble when i made pendants was creating a clasp and breaking it off cleanly. When making marbles i had a lot of trouble breaking off the marble from the glass rod smoothly. When I was having troubles with a pendant or marble watching videos of demonstrations really helped me work out the problems that I had. Unfortunately i didn’t have enough time in class to actually perfect being able to make glass jewelry or create a good final project but I did learn a lot about it and I’m hoping to try it again in the future.   

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

